Anyone ever been asked to do car windows?

Hi Im new in the business and i handing out my business cards and stopped at an car auction place and they asked me if i was willing to clean the car windows before the auction an gif i would give him a quote to to nothing but the windows of the cars keep in mind that these cars have already been washed and detailed days before. I’m talking about 200+ plus cars
thanks for any advice

Run outside, set up all the gear you will need. I would suggest Sprayway and huck towels or micro fiber. Do all of the windows on your car and time yourself. Detail the edges and corners first, than quickly do the main part of the glass - don’t forget the mirrors. Come up with a fair price to do this 200 times. :::Bam::: Winner, winner, chicken dinner! :wink:

4 Likes

They would be a pain no matter how done, but I would skip the squeegee in favor of foam spray.

5 Likes

I would contemplate $2 per side of glass. 1 front, 1 back, 4 side windows on a sedan; throw the mirrors in for free. Sales brother, sales!

$2 each…$12 x 2(in/out) = $24 x 200 = $4,800. Hmmm, could they afford that?

$1 each…$6 x 2(in/out) = $12 x 200 = $2,400. Hmmm, is that much arm flailing worth it for $2,400?

Bound to be some trucks, but many trucks are crew cab anymore, so we’re still talking 4 to 6 pieces of glass. (8 to 12 inside and out).

Edit afterthought:
Sprayway cost about $3 per can. 200 cars you may be out several cans, your price per window PLUS the cost of foam spray. No need to eat that cost and wear your arms out too!

If they go cheap on you, offer them this service…lol

El Cheapo Car Wash

I went to a car dealership once to pitch them and quote the glass. He apparently though i was talking about pressure washing the cars. He said yeah 50 cents each!

More than likely they aren’t going to pay you what you need. They won’t see the value

1 Like