How do I keep my employees

I am new to the business and I have tried to hire people to help me out. I have paid them hourly starting at $12 (I was strarted at $9) had a guy at $15, I also tried paying them a percentage of every job sometimes costing me as much as $20 hr and I still have problems finding the right guy.

They quit after a month or two, start to come in late, dont show up, dont call, and even had a guy steal from me because he kept borrowing more money that he was making in a wk and I finally put a stop to it.

So, is there any advice out there that might help me choose and keep happier employees on board. I got some good advice on interviewing now Im looking for retention tips.

Your help is very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

That’s a very complicated issue that probably cannot be fully addressed in just a forum thread. That one issue is the single biggest headache a small business owner faces and the reason that many business cannot grow despite great marketing. let’s face it, if you create new jobs through snazzy marketing only to fall on your face with sorry employees, you’re still headed toward failure.

My suggestion is to read, read, read and apply, apply, apply what you have learned. Good books such as Dale Carnegie, How to Win Friends… Developing the Leader Within You by John Maxwell, Leader to Leader by the Peter Drucker Foundation, The 17 Laws of Teamwork by John Maxwell, Boundaries by Cloud/Townsand, and The Power of Agreement by Brian D. Molitor.

Also, if you have a fax I can send you some of the handouts from a seminar on how to hire right that I attended a couple of years ago that will at least get you going in the right direction. Just PM me you fax#

A owner of a brick masonry company once told me that he tells his guys that “when the day is over and the cement mixer is cleaned and washed out, we are friends. until then, you work for me and im the owner”.