How much do I have to make?

I have a question regarding how much I have to make to live about the same lifestyle, I am a solo operator. I am just going to use numbers as an example. If I make $75,000 a year from a full time job and $50,000 a year from window cleaning, so a total of $125,000 a year from both incomes. How much would I have to make by just doing window cleaning to live about the same lifestyle? The obvious would be $125,000 a year, but do i have to make more or less? Of course I am sure there are a lot of variables, just trying to get an idea. If more info is need to make sense or a good estimation, let me know. Thanks.

If weā€™re just talking gross numbers, Iā€™d say you need to add 30-40% to match the take-home for a salaried position.

For instance, to match your $75k salary, youā€™d need $100k +/- $5k in gross sales. Add that to your current sales from window cleaning, and youā€™d need about $150k to match your current combined income of $125k.

3 Likes

My wife and I have never made more than $75k gross a year window cleaning residential. 25 years doing this.

Pressure washing and screen repair on the other handā€¦they make about double per man hour.

You can work less hours to attain the income, so there is that benefit.

To address the question in the title directly (how much do I have to make?), my answer would be, ā€œa lot less than $125kā€. But you might have to make some lifestyle changes.

mr money mustache has a really informative (albeit occasionally vulgar) blog on how to live well on a small budget. His primary goal in living a ā€˜minimalistā€™ lifestyle was early retirement, but my goal in applying his strategies is to simply have to work less and live more.