I have a job but am thinking of being a window cleaner again

Hey everyone,

I’m basically a newb on here, I’ve been reading silently in the background for about a year and I truly appreciate all of your guys’ great ideas and posts.

First off, I did own a window cleaning business with a friend about 6 years ago but have since gone to school to be an A&P mechanic. I now work for a major airline and live just south of Atlanta. I make great money, (at least to me it’s great) I think on my taxes I made $80,000 last year. Since I’ve been working in aviation I have quickly discovered that the work is not all it’s cracked up to be. I found out that I am not all that fond of shift work and after working mid-nights on the weekend for the past 5 years, I’m wondering if I’ll ever get off this schedule. A co-worker of mine has been here for 18 years and is on the shift I am on. There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of hope that there will be any sort of normalcy anytime soon. That being said, I truly appreciate my job and don’t want to be seen as ungrateful, but I’m not sure this schedule will work for me when my two daughters start going to school in a few years. My family is important and not seeing them for years while living in the same house is frankly, unreasonable to me. Unfortunately, since the aviation industry is almost exclusively a 24/7 operation I’ve recently been re-thinking my career choice.