Need some help getting started..HELP

Hey guys… I am new to the business and could really use some help getting started. More than anything need to know the best way to get new business. I am from Canada (Near Detroit MI) and am having trouble getting the business off the ground. Which is the best way to get new business? Door to door?? flyers? Newspaper ads? Also… should I invest in a WFP sysytem? it seems to be the way of the future? I have some money now… so I take advantage of it? It seems like a great business to be into… Please help me out…

What have you tried so far?

What [I]kind [/I]of client would you ideally like to service, and do business with?

I would like to do residential all year around… but because I live in Canada I can’t. I need atleast some commercial to get me thru the colder months. I have tried flyers and newspaper ads. I have heard in the past that door to door is the only true way to get customers… is this true? I don’t like doing that but I will if it works

If door to door were the only way to get business, a lot of us would be dead lol

For residential-

Fliers are the cheapest and best way to start. no doubt. In fact I would concentrate on that, then work on a website and get AdWords working for you (Google) too. From there you can start direct mail or whatever to get the machine working without your constant attention.

You can go from 0 - 60 fast (as long as you know what you are doing and do a great job)

For commercial Paneless or MikeP are the experts

We have found that advertising in the local papers of the towns you are targeting has been our best marketing tool. People around here seem to want to hire local companies. The absolute best marketing tool though is WORD OF MOUTH!!