Not landing jobs, losing bids because of high price

This is my first year full time. I use professionally designed thick glossy estimate sheets and I charge $5 a pane inside and out, $3.50 just outside. That roughly equates to $50-$60 per man hour. I have a couple part time employees for when I have large houses to do.

When I started out in April and May I was offering people a 15% spring cleaning discount, and I was landing 90% of my bids. Now I’m charging full price, and I do land about 50% of the bids at full price, the other half I lose because my competitors are charging anywhere from $3.75-$4.25 a pane inside and out.

I’ve thought about lowering prices to $4.25 a pane, as it’s my first year and I also want to keep my employees busy. I’m not landing enough jobs.

The problem with lowering is that I offer maintenance plans with frequency discounts
from 10% to 15%, and I would hate to discount lower prices.

What should I do?

“The problem with lowering is that I offer maintenance plans with frequency discounts from 10% to 15%, and I would hate to discount lower prices.”

• Don’t offer a percentage discount. Try $25 off.

“I charge $5 a pane inside and out, $3.50 just outside.”
• So for a double hung window (2 panes) you get $10 in/out, and exterior only double hung (2 panes) you get $7?

Provide value for the service that you offer. Your competitors may not be offering the same service and value as you. If you are landing 90% + of your bids that is great. 50% then you will need more exposure to land more jobs.

“What should I do?”
• Offer to throw in mirrors for free; change smoke detector batteries for free (customer supplies battery); clean outdoor light fixtures.