Not spending enough by tax time

So apparently I need to spend more money throughout the year on business deductible items to have enough to write off to reduce having to pay more than my estimated taxes. I came up a little short for 2020 and paid $562 above my quarterly estimate. I could pad the estimate by about $150, but then I may over pay. Yea, yea, I would get it back, but where is the fun in that?

Perhaps some suggestions? I’m a solo operator but I do have a friend I hire on a temp basis to help with the larger jobs. I also draw the line at 3 story and above.

Talk with your tax man(?) :man_shrugging:

It’s hard to tell you what to add when we don’t know your books, your tax advisor would know more than I would. That being said, our tax advisor was a great help last year. And stuff keeps changing due to COVID.

1 Like

I did. I’ll be buying a new computer this year, so that will burn a chunk. I put flooring in the home office, so that helps. The walls will be painted and shelves put up. Then start looking at tool upgrades and such.

@Garry

What’s your waterfed setup like?
DI or RODI?
Pole length?
Pole model?
Accessories?

I can recommend some practical upgrades.

Jordie
862 312 2633
[email protected]

So, not to try and talk you out of giving Jordie and WCR more business, but…

Spending should be the method of last resort when trying to reduce your tax burden. Yes, it works, but remember that you’re really only saving 20% or 30% in taxes on whatever additional spending you do. So unless it’s stuff you really need (and/or will result in increased profits or efficiency somehow), it usually makes more sense to just pay a little more in taxes.