Pricing waterfed pole service

Thank you all for sharing your experience in the window business on this site. I’ve been cleaning by myself for about 10 years now and there is so much more to learn.

My question to you all is this:
For 2-4 story buildings, are you charging less for your service than say someone using a boom lift, or close to the same? I’ve done several buildings now using water-fed and it’s considerably faster, so do you use this as a competitive edge in pricing? I Don’t necessarily want to be the cheapest, just wondering if you pass on the savings to your customer?
Can you give an example please?
Thanks, Chris Cassidy/ Clearview Window & Blind Cleaning

I quote my hourly rate for how much time it would take me to do traditionally with squeegee & ladder. Your costs for filters, membranes & equipment have to be counted for, so for the extra time & expense away from the job - this is how I account for it. The fact that you are doing it quicker is none of there business.

I may not be the cheapest but I am competitive ! "- that is exactly what I say to my customers. I charge the same price as when trad (seems a long time ago now) Cannot give an example as I have never used or priced with a boom lift.
Your speed will also increase slightly the longer you do it. Work smarter not harder, its the know how the customer is paying for.

1 Like

ps I generally charge the same price for each floor of typical a “window” up to three floors.

Thanks for your replies and advice. I didn’t want to leave deserved money on the table when it could mean dinner for 2 with my wife or something.

Hey electric window cleaner, What happens after 3 floors (price wise)

When you get higher than 3 floors, even the best poles start to flex and sway a bit. It is more difficult and takes longer to clean 4th and 5th story windows. You will want to account for that in your bidding.

I normally charge 1.00 more of my “full pane price” per anything over 2 stories.