Residential Interior Obstacles!

This is going to sound like a rant, but after doing primarily storefronts for the last 2 months doing a large route with a veteran, I’ve gained a number of residential customers. I’d say half of the windows were near inaccessible due to massive furniture, bed abutting the window, kids stuff, etc. I never run into these things doing storefronts (tables, chairs and signs aside), and the going was slow and awkward. I moved what I could, and took pictures with my phone so I could replace everything once the windows were done, but it was quite a sigh of relief when the interior was done, and the exteriors were left. It felt like 90% of the work was interior work. I’m new to this game, but how do you generally address these situations? Do you ask the owner to move things away from the window prior to the job, or do you move them on your own? Some of these things were giant heirlooms made out of walnut, huge sofas, giant vases, etc. I used a beach towel to cover these items, but it became irritable and stressful. What do most of you do? Is it something that is just part of residential that you have to get used to?

Thanks in advance.

When I send the confirmation email I ask them to remove as much of the small things as they can from in front of the windows. I was a carpet cleaner for years so moving things is second nature to me.

… Over time you get use to how to move about in a house, even a cluttered house. I ask folks to move knick-nacks from window
sills. Furniture I can deal with. Sometimes I can get the glass with a pole but the tracks will be left undone because I can’t get close enough.
A window blocked by an oversize headboard of the bed usually doesn’t get done, neither do garage windows
with tons of stuff piled in front. Every once in a while I charge extra if there is so much stuff to move.
I always make all this known upfront before starting to clean.

I ALLWAYS carry a cheap plastic painters tarp in the vehicle .