Sole trader, partners, company Or Trust, what's your setup

G’day everyone, I do apologise if this post is in the wrong place.

I couldn’t find and threads about setting your business’s up lawfully or legally. I am interested in other professionals opinions and experiences including current business structure and past if applicable as titled and If I may ask, what was the reasoning at the time.

I am a sole trader at this stage because it was simple for me when I began. Sole trader is cheap and simply to start up.
I am now thinking about the future and am leaning towards trust. Mainly because I feel I have more control in every sense of the word.

What’s your thoughts?

Regards,
Jfb

Howdy!

In the US I’m a limited liability company (llc). I’m not sure what the Australian version of that is but it sounds like a trust might be similar to that (based on a quick google search).

I personally don’t like sole proprietor type things because i want to separate my personal assets from business assets.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Window Cleaning Resource mobile app

I hear you Jared. That’s one reason for me. What about toys for your business to help improve company presence like a 45ft boat for business functions and promotions, maybe the tax bill would be a little less, who knows.

Wow, that would be cool but I’m not sure how my accountant (my wife) would like it if I bought me a nice fishing boat… I might get a call from the IRS on that one. What is the Australian version of the Internal Revenue Service? I heard you guys have the most deadly jellyfish - that might be similar.

To be perfectly honest the ATO here is a private corporation of the United States of America.

But don’t take my word for it, I’m just a window cleaner.