Struggling with speed

Hello everyone.
I have some experience cleaning windows with an exterior service company … it was a couple of years ago …to be honest , I learned more from you tube than I did from them .
I got geared up last fall ( trad only ) and started advertising in February of this year. I work full time , and generally do windows one or two days a week . So I’m booked out until almost June , but it’s like 6 jobs haha. And a few accounts . My main problem is I find every job is running way long . I have set up a system and strive for efficiency. I am a cabinetmaker , and am very organized and precise , and understand workflow and minimizing wasted motion etc…
I know I will get faster , but cleaning a weeks worth of days in 5 weeks , it’s been harder to get up to speed . I am also probably overdoing it on tracks etc .
I dont want to give up, but if I dont get faster, I feel I will not be making enough to keep at it .
Also right now I will not book more than one job a day because I’m constantly going over time .
I’m not sure what advice I’m after , other than how many panes are you guys averaging per hour/job/day etc.

1 Like

I didn’t gauge my speed by per pane but by dollers per hour.

For houses I wanted to be somewhere between $100-150 per hour.

As for getting faster it’s all about the muscle memory. Focus on smooth technique and eventually smooth translates to speed.

5 Likes

Yes . I’ve been averaging $50 an hour haha. Sometimes more, and sometimes less…
Also I did a few jobs where I charged just for the glass , and not for screens and a few things because it was very early in the season, and I let them know it was an early booking discount etc…
I’ve been feeling better with every job so far.
I actually pushed off a large house a few weeks because I didn’t feel ready … I also told him it would take more than one day… it’s quite large .
so I got in some more practise .
My end result is very good … but I probably overdo it …