Taxes - Lower your stress level

This may seem like a no-brainer (it is) but I took the advice from a friend a couple years ago and get my taxes in as soon as possible that way you know where your at financially. While we have a few more things to submit, todays the January 8th and we have already submitted almost everything to the CPA. What a relief, now I can devote time to other more important things.

Don’t forget if your Incorporated, taxes are due March 15th!

Good Advice!

I have an accounting degree and I have been preparing taxes for individuals and businesses for years. I will try to answer any questions y’all post regarding the preparation of your 2010 individual or business tax returns.

Any good tax breaks? Have you come accross W-11 form? Maybe you can explain better than I did…

Hey bumblebee, what are the advantages of incorporating your business? What do you recommend for window cleaners? I hear good and bad things from both sides…

As a new business owner I am interested in knowing what can be written-off as a business expense. Aside from the obvious, what are you guys claiming on your taxes as write-offs?

Any paper supplies, pens, etc. Stamps, work clothing. If you keep track of mileage, ANY miles you drive when doing something business related such as making bank deposits, mailing a bill, picking up a check from Randy’s Sub Shop on the way to the movies, an appropriate percentage of your mortgage/rental costs for space devoted to running your business.
Not exhaustive by any means.

Thanks. I never thought of the mileage to the bank or mailing a bill. We need to start keeping track of that.
We will start a log of those miles.

the irs has a complete list of things you can deduct.
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=109807,00.html
but what I can’t seem to find is how much you have to spend first before you can start deducting. isn’t it $5k?

Thanks guys! I wouldn’t have thought about part of my mortgage. This is really helpful.