Website copy stolen

So my wife and I are looking to move to a new city 1500 miles away, and as I was scouting out the local window cleaners, I found one of them who’s FAQ copied ours WORD FOR WORD. I’m not sure how to respond. Thoughts?

Is it by another member on the board or just someone random? If your site gets great traffic, people will copy from it. No comment if they do so with the intent of flattery or not, though.

I’m no lawyer, nor have I played one on TV…

1 Like

I don’t know if they are a member, I don’t know them. It seems really odd that I’d come across someone who stole my own text in the city that we’re looking to move to. I don’t want to sue them or anything, but is it legit to ask them to take it down and write their own stuff?

Very strange they found your site considering there’s thousands of companies out there. They must have online exposure to you somehow.

1 Like

Yes, you have every right to ask them to take down the plagiarized work. If they don’t comply, you have legal recourse.

I would start by asking nicely, then more firmly, then ask your lawyer to send them a cease and desist letter if they still don’t comply.

It’s the word for word bit that strikes me as sketchy. I think in a moment of honesty we’ve all saw/found/heard/seen a nice way of explaining some facet of our shared industry, and used it in a modified way. But to straight up take the words from your mouth seems low to me and at the very least disingenuous and not how you run a business/website/web presence.

well they have added a few more faqs but yours are there word for except for the price. not gonna be worth going to court but a letter from a lawyer might do it.
HOWEVER
before doing anything to ruffle any feathers i suggest you register your business name in that area and register some of the other variants of your domain that are available like.ca or two-guys-wc.com and take any other precautions you can maybe even register a keystone variant or 2 yourself.