Where do I go from here?

I am new to the business and have gotten insurance, business license, basic equipement to get started. I have a full time job already so to get started I will have to be doing my window cleaning on the weekend. What kinda of jobs do I need to be bidding? I went around for about 3 hours trying to speak to managers yesterday at fast food joints and similiar commercial places and they all had someone already doing there windows. Can someone give me tips or direction to be able to find some work? Thanks for your help.

Just keep pounding the pavement bro, you’ll get there. Always leave a card with your price just in case. Sometimes it takes months or even a year before they decide they need a window cleaner. Start small and work your way up. You’ll be surprised how a $20 job can boost your confidence. Sounds like you’re doing good, keep it up!

6 Likes

Do you think hitting strip malls would be good even if I make minimal profit? Just to get some experience?

Look for dirty windows. Calling on someone else’s customers can be very discouraging. I run my hand across the glass. If it’s dirty I go in.

4 Likes

Gaining storefront clients is a number game. The more places you visit the more yes you get, until you build a tight route then you can focus on the clients you want.

Don’t forget to follow up with clients that show interest.

Check out this category, it a wealth of knowledge…

3 Likes

Anything to get started, I would look at ma and pop shops because the owner is usually always there to speak with. You’re gonna get turned away alot, but don’t let that deter you. In this industry the only the strong survive, the weak don’t make it for too long untill someone else comes along and weeds them out. Since you’re just starting out as a part time, take what you can get and grow on it. You’ve got the ground ready to set the foundation. So start pouring the concrete for your foundation, then build on it.

1 Like