Why do they put off payment!

I have never done this before and will not again.

I have two customers who needed cleaning done and would not be available at the end of the job, so just bill it to them. What could go wrong?! One went out bulk mail…5-10 days at the post office!! The other says - oh yeah, I got your bill I will be mailing that out to you - 5 days AFTER the service!

I don’t have so many accounts that I can just say…“oh, when it gets it that will be fine.” I rely on my income! These are people with hugely deep pockets too.

Never again. Pay up at the end of the job, or don’t schedule until such time as you can.

G

I learned that last year, and I make sure to mention when scheduling that “payment is due upon completion”.

Don’t know your customer base, but in over 3 years I’ve had to wait on a few checks, but being polite call them to let them know, maybe the forgot or had something else going on. There are people who are like that, maybe waiting for YOU to forget (like that’s gonna happen) be polite everytime, don’t loose it, stop by by their home if you know what time they’re usually there, tell them you were working couple blocks away and decided to stop by to pick up the check so they don’t have to get out of their way to drop it at the post office, we all know that’s not true, and they do too, but if you persist you’ll get it.

It shouldn’t be like that, but you know the people you do work for, so plan ahead. When I get the feeling that something can go wrong I make it clear before getting started that payment is expected at the end of the job and if they have to leave they can leave it to you or you can pick it up later.