WSIB coverage mandatory to get some big contracts

Twice in the past week, I was asked if I had WSIB coverage. I do not. I’m an independant operator, and I spoke to WSIB. Since I don’t have employees, and my 1 subcontractrr passes the test of being a true subcontractee (registered with the governemnt with a business name, has his own customers, doesn’t wear my uniform, or use my tools, and is not trained by me or under constant sueprvision).

However, now that large customers are calling me thanks to my website, I have the potential of losing a lost of jobs with not having WSIB coverage.

They don’t agree that I’m exempt, and they can’t get permission to work with our company. Right now I’m on the verge of getting a huge contract and that is an issue with him as well.

I just spoke to WSIB and they said I could voluntarily register with them. For a low rate of $16 per $100 of gross revenue. I’m considering doing that, but I would have to raise my rates about 16% to make up with the increased C.O.D. Registering with them would give me a WSIB clearance that I could use to secure those contracts. And perhaps I could use WSIB registeration as a way to differentiate myself form the competition.

Mike,

Some time ago I emailed you some info on my Blue Cross disability plan. They are able to draw up a document for you stating you are covered if injured on the job. According to my agent, this document is acceptable where WSIB is normally required.

Mike, considering that most ‘big’ jobs are handled by ‘bigger’ window cleaning companies registered with WSIB, I’m not sure registering with WSIB would benefit you (make you stand ahead of the competition) that much.