Airport Traffic Towers

Hello WCR’s,
I have been looking through the vast amount of info on this site and decided that it was time to utilize this wonderful resource.

Anyways, I have a hand full of airport traffic control towers that I need to put a bid together. I have no experience with this type of structure and was wondering if anyone here has prior experience that they can share. Would like to incorporate your experience into my bid/quote. Was informed that each tower is approx. 300 sf-ft of glass.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, need to submit bid by tomorrow.

Thanks,
Jason

Jason how tall is that? And how did you get in contact with the decision maker?

1 Like

I service the one here in locally. You do have to jump through some paperwork hoops (getting a DUNS number, etc…).
There should be a hatch leading you up there along with a pretty good size parapet. It’s relatively safe, especially if you’re
afraid of heights. With that one I’d go $250-300 easy

Not exactly sure on the height, but taking a reference scale from the pick-up looks like 50 ft-ish. Have not seen them personally, just trying to get pic’s from the internet.

As far as the decision maker…I got lucky with this one, I advertised on some of the gov websites and got a call from a few of the janitorial companies. Submitted a bid to one company and they liked it that they referred me to their associates. :slight_smile:

Will be working as a sub to the main jan company.

Thanks for the input. Yeah, I was told that I will have to submit doc’s for a clearance badge, and that I will have access to the cat-walk. Service will be in/out’s, twice yearly, with the opp for a 5 yr contract.

Not friendly with heights though…

Hi Jason, that would be a really cool job to do. From the catwalk are you able to reach everything or do you still need ladder and pole? $300 for in and out or $300 in & $300 out? Good luck, hope you get it.