Buying New DI Resin

Hey all!

This is my first time on the site. I see this is a great place to get good information about window cleaning.

I have a 3/4 DI tank and need to replace the resin. But it seems so expensive. Looking online, it seems as if the resin for reef tanks is cheaper. Will that work? What do you guys prefer for or use to replace your resin?

Thank you!

1 Like

I use mixed bed resin I get a bag over here for about $150 plus delivery.
with my TDS of 120 a 25L bag lasts me about a year.

You may have gotten one of our super cheap 3/4 DI tanks - https://shopwindowcleaningresource.com/refurbished-3-4-cubic-foot-di-tank-full-set-up.html

If you look at it compared to the other tanks youll see how cheap it is actually:
https://shopwindowcleaningresource.com/pure-water-systems/di-tanks-resin.html

Its actually cheaper than a resin refill!
https://shopwindowcleaningresource.com/xero-virgin-resin.html

Something to know is those tanks are super cheap! - We got 1,000 of them on super special last year. I think we only have about 40 left. So when your looking around the store the pricing may appear disproportionate.

The #1 best way to spend less on resin is to put an RO membrane in front of your tank. Check out this chart for an example of expected output:

You can learn more here if needed: https://windowcleaner.com/waterfed-poles/understanding/purification/

3 Likes

Rent takes from local distributors

I don’t understand the whole renting thing. Why rent when you could own at a relatively low price ?

2 Likes

Are you referring to Resin for salt water fish tanks? There are different resins on the market. Basically it is small polymer beads one Katon one anon. Mixed bed of 60/40 is the norm. The Xero brand is high quality mixed bed. You will get Long life out of it if you keep it wet or air tight in storage. Always keep the tank in a upright position so the mixed bed does not get disturbed.

mixed bed $25 a month delivered. aprx 500 gallons