Cleaning concrete off of tempered glass

I started cleaning windows as a side hustle about six months ago. Today I went to look at a house that needs post construction clean. Some of the windows have concrete stuck on them and they are tempered. How do I remove that without scratching the glass? Also, as I understand, you’re never supposed to use a scraper on tempered glass. I really need some advice here. I’ve never done a post construction clean before and I’m wondering if I should bid the job or not

Concrete stuck on tempered glass?

Idk bout you but that’s a no for me dawg.

3 Likes

I Just passed on a job like this a couple of months ago. Don’t forget if there are any pre-existing scratches you’ll get blamed for those as well.
Pass !! Plenty of easier work out there for you. Well when the winter is over that is. Hang in there !
If you do decide to move forward and do it. Have them sign a pre-existing condition waiver

1 Like

Thanks Majestic66. I appreciate the advice. I’m still thinking about it, but I’m starting to lean towards passing on it, unless there is some product that can I can use to dissolve the concrete. There’s quite a bit of windows and several are quite large overlooking a lake. Most of the windows look like it’s mostly dust and dirt, but a couple of the sliding doors had quite a bit of concrete splatter on the bottom part
I watched a guy demonstrating scraping concrete off glass, but that was not tempered glass

This winter is too damn long lol

1 Like

Pass here too, unless there is no other work and you feel sure you won’t get blamed for damage.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. I have decided to pass

1 Like

There is a product called cement off. Not sure how good it is, or if it even works.
If it’s only those specific doors you’re talking about. Maybe just let them know. I can clean everything else , but I don’t use blades on glass , because they’re prone to scratching.