Cleaning Inside Windows Like A Professional

So I’ve been canvassing around my area and I have several storefronts that are interested in me cleaning both the inside and outside of their windows.

I’m cool with cleaning the outside, but I’m a little concerned about the inside part.

I mean, how do you ensure that water doesn’t drip all over the place?

Also, what do you do if there’s a bunch of merchandise and/or racks blocking the window? I assume I let the manager know that I’ll have to move the stuff to get at the windows?

This is my first time cleaning inside windows, and I’m a little nervous that I’ll make mistakes.

What in your professional opinion is the best way to go about cleaning inside windows?

As always, I appreciate your guys’ advice :smiley:

You’re going to make mistakes. Especially if you’ve never done insides. Just ask them politely to move anything they wouldn’t want dripped on away from the windows, while you’re doing the outs. You’ll probably still have to move a little yourself, but get them used to the procedure.

Wipe up all the water and you’ll be fine.

customers are responsible for moving their property away from the glass to the point where we can get to the glass. You start moving customer “stuff” around and you will watch your hourly rate plummet. You will understand this better after you pay for something that “tips over” and breaks while you are cleaning.

If you are using a pole in close quarters, keep your pinkie finger under the pole grip. You bang your finger when pulling a pole down will heal. I watched a fellow put a 4" scratch in the fender of a new Cadillac on the showroom floor because he ignored this advice.

Buy cheap cotton bath towels to lay down below the glass. It helps cleanup of the water, but the visual to the customer makes you look like a superstar.

Invest in a set of ledgers and a Super System (or other adjustable handle system) and learn how to pole a window without being directly in front of it.