Color Schemes

Greetings all! I’ve been lurking around for a couple of weeks because a friend wants to start a window and gutter cleaning business and get it up and started by spring. I’m new to the industry but the friend isn’t and will be training me. I’m trying to come up with names and business cards and I’ve noticed many businesses use white, blue and green on their business cards. How important is that? We had an idea that we thought was a catchy name and to put it in purple with neon font for the name and regular type font for info all on a black background. You know, like a neon sign. Is black a color that shouldn’t be used or does it matter? Thanks for any input and looking forward to learning more!

Hi @Leo! I am with the print department here at the wcr.

Yes, many business cards in the industry tend to use different shades of blue, as the majority either want to represent water or have something water related on the card.

You do not have to follow that pattern. Blue and green do tend to make you think of water, however that does not mean setting yourself apart and being different is a bad thing. It can make you stand out.

I have one window cleaner who likes to use Superman colors, and have seen many logos in red and orange.

I can picture your idea with the black and neon, and it sounds like it could look very cool. The only issue that comes to mind is what kind of paper stock you use for your cards and how they are cut. This will depend on where you get them. If the cards do not have a great quality ink, that black has the potential the peel around the edges after cutting. It could be visible right away, or might take time, but eventually that black can start to wear away. You might want to consider plastic cards- this will prevent the ink from rubbing off or peeling when cut.