Concerned about pricing

I’ve been cleaning windows in my area for four years now. Usually with no problems on pricing. Lately I’ve been losing bids due to my prices being considered too high. I’m getting concerned with losing so many jobs. I price my windows at 6.00 per window exterior and 70% of that for the interior. Basically 10.20 per single hung window unit both sides not including screens or tracks. . Of course others are higher or lower depending on the size and style. Do you think I’m too high? Just need some input cause I’m stressing out on this.

I would say this is average, based on what other’s have posted.

Being in “The Most Affordable City to Live in”, I start at $6-$8 for inside & out for SH/Casement, no screens or tracks. People here simply won’t pay any more than that for window cleaning, and other established cleaners seem to be on par.

1 Like

How many bids are you losing?

Ask what the other bid is. Is it half the price? Then don’t sweat it. They’ll be out of business soon. Is it within $25? Then you might adjust a little to be more competitive. But if you’re established for 4 years it may just be a fluke that seems like it’s bigger deal then it really is at thw moment.

4 Likes

Prices don’t seem out of the norm. Any number of reasons can be afoot why some of the customers aren’t buying. I’ve posted the reasons before on other threads…They are budgeting for: New roof, A/C, kids in college, transmission repair, loss of job or pay cut, (fill in the blank).
Sometimes, if the frequency starts to wear on you, it helps to ask what can they budget for? If it is close enough for you to be comfortable doing it and you want to, then negotiate.

2 Likes

I was cleaning a townhouse today for $100. A neighbor came by told me about her windows and wanted a quote, $100.

She looked shocked and said her guy does it for $17. But he doesn’t wash her screens (as if that’s where I make up the $83).