Customer writing a check question? Thanks

I am just starting out and have a customer that wants to write a check. I do not have a business checking account yet. I wanted to know if you have them write it to your name? Thanks.

Yeah, especially just starting out. Have them write it directly to your name. Thats what I did too.

I would look for a bank that offers free small business checking and get that set up ASAP. Nothing cheesier than not letting your clients write a check to your business name.

No offense intended. :slight_smile:

You will need at least a DBA to open an account

Look for a bank that offered free checking. You may need paperwork. I had to show a tax #. Good luck

I had to get an EIN # via the IRS to open up a business checking account, you can contact them and get a # over the phone and then they will mail you your paper work. I went to my bank with my # ( before I got my paperwork) and set up my account.

You want the business account so go ahead and get it set up ASAP. Get the DBA (doing business as) and EIN #. Run all cash and checks customers pay you through the business account weekly and write yourself a check at the end of the week, after deductions, as your paycheck. If you’re ever audited you will NEED this paper trail. Besides, it makes you look more professional if you have them make it out to your business name, and you have invoices with your business name. Office Depot can get you set up pretty cheap with carbonless copy so you keep one and the customer gets an exact copy. This type of approach sets you apart from the fly by nighters. My Credit Union says the chacks can be made to either my business name or my name. I prefer business but accept it either way.