Dish soap as window cleaner?

Hi there! my name is Matt I’m 15 and new to window cleaning and I need some help.

I have been using Palmolive dish soap and water as a window cleaner, and I was just wondering if dish soap works as a good window cleaner? I have had good streak less results with it but I’m still wondering if I should continue to use it or to invest into a “real” window cleaner.

Btw I charge $40 for a main floor and $60 for a two story (within reason) so that’s why I chose the cheaper option of dish soap since I basically don’t pay anything in cleaner per job.

1 Like

I have been using Dawn for 12+ years. It does the job well.

Not sure about your pricing structure. Think about a per window charge if you are doing good solid work charge a good solid price. Some jobs are just more labor intensive than others so for that I can’t understand a one-size-fits-all price.

1 Like

dish soap work well, i have used several different kinds and never noticed a difference. they are genaerally easier to use than “professional” solutions

Dawn. Nothing else compares. If the windows are REALLY dirty and or you’ll be working in the sun, add a cap full of Glass Gleam 3 or 4 to your bucket with the Dawn.

1 Like

Blue Dawn dish soap. 100% my favorite.

$20 worth of soap lasts us a year.

2 Likes

Palmolive for windows, it is probably the worst soap for the job, it can leave a rainbow effect on the glass.

I’m using it wrong! I buy a bottle a week…I need to go back over some of the “SOAP WARS” posts.
I thought this thread might ignite the feudal fires of some.

How bigs your bottle? @WindowGuysLV

64 oz. time to upgrade to the gallon

If you have to worry about the price of soap
You need to raise your prices. I don’t care if your 10 your in business you deserve to make what any other window cleaner makes. These prices are way to cheap. Use blue Dawn !! Raise your prices !!

3 Likes