Does anyone ever just price match?

I’m interested in expanding our commercial work but also don’t want to deal with wasting time with quoting and then not getting the job because we went 100$ over budget. If they have a quote already or have had window cleaning before - why not just match their old invoice/other estimate? Would it be weird to suggest that?

Why would you price match? You have no idea who the previous company was or how long ago they bid the job. So how old is the price? Not to mention if any of us haven’t raised our prices at least 20% this past spring we will be hurting next year. Don’t price match, bid all jobs so you are profitable so the ones you land you make the money you need to. JMO

4 Likes

Nope. They’re probably just saying that to drop the price $100.

3 Likes

if they are, I would request obviously proof (an old invoice). I’m not very experienced with bidding commercial so I figured it would be a nice way to get an idea of what to charge. idk was just a thought

definitely see where you’re coming from and to be honest I wouldn’t guarantee matching it. I guess that was a poor choice of words. I just mean if they had cleaning done before then I would take into consideration their previous invoice. If its really low balled then I’d tell them that. I’m just not sure how to quote large commercial and figured it would be a good way to get an idea.

p.s nice truck lol

1 Like

I would never offer to price match.

My personal rule is to never take work from another cleaner unless they just aren’t showing up anymore.

I would never beat someone’s price either.

In general, I feel if someone is mainly concerned about price, once they find someone cheaper than you, they’ll drop you.

3 Likes

The best way to do that is to figure out your costs, and how long the job will take, apply your markup %, and use that number…just sayin’.