Employee Excuses

Ok, I’ve been employing people for 13+ years… and I just had a new call-in excuse today…

Employee- “Kyle, can I call in today because my wife has the stomach flu and would really like me to stay home today with her.”

Me- “…uh…what?”

Employee- “She would just really appreciate it if I stayed home and took care of her”

Me- “…The next 3 days are jam packed and I need all hands on deck. How about you make what is the best decision for you. You just let me know what that is and call me back soon and let me know.”

Employee- “oh…ok… I will.”

… this is unfortunately one of my better crew members who I was going to surprise today with a promotion because he had been doing so well this fall… promotion is now on the back burner…if only he knew

6 Likes

He showed up… not in the greatest spirits. These boys don’t know how to be the man of the house.

5 Likes

Honestly, Kyle, I don’t believe that was such a ridiculous request (really surprised you’ve never heard something like that in 13 years). I’m sure you’ve had a stomach flu before and been throwing up all day - it can really help to have someone by your side helping you out. Its draining both physically and emotionally.

If this guy called off all the time for flaky excuses then yes this could just be a lie. But a guy who’s proven himself already to the extent that you even were considering promoting him? C’mon. Not to be a jerk, but you’re being uncompassionate and unreasonable.

Just trying to give some perspective. And this is coming from someone who, when i worked for others, worked myself ragged, only called in sick when i was truly really really bad off, never called in for any other reason ever, and never made excuses.

Just my $0.02 fwiw :wink:

1 Like

A guy that briefly worked for me last year no showed on his 2nd day.

“My girl’s toy poodle died last night. I was up til 5 AM at the vet, can I have today off?”

Sure