Experienced window cleaner starting own business

Hi friends,
I have been cleaning windows for a few years and have learned a lot from this website, SteveO and Luke, among others. I cannot thank all of you enough for all of the advice and tips.
I have had the itch to run my own professional business for quite a while, and pulled the trigger to start my own window cleaning company this spring. I have filed a dba, set up liability insurance, am getting my truck ready for the season, and I am working on my promotional materials.
My questions are, how much advertising to start? Is there a need to establish my brand or just get out there and do it? How much advertising should be paper vs online? Does downsizing to a minivan make sense? Do you advertise to friends/do you discount them? Is storefront work broken due to Fish? Do I let my former employer know I am starting my own business?( he was completely unprofessional, never had me sign a non compete clause, and yet still makes 100k a season cleaning windows)
I guess what I am getting at is that I have been doing my due diligence reading small business books, getting legitimate, and am confident in my skills but still have a lot of questions. Any advice is appreciated.
Joe

No need to establish brand right off, spend what your budget allows on advertising, door hangers are probably cheapest, do eddm if you can afford it. Online marketing too if you know how. I’m computer challenged so I don’t do much there. Yes advertise to friends but don’t discount too much. I don’t do storefront but I don’t believe it is broken because of Fish, lots of guys doing it from what I read here. Definitely let your former employer know, it’s a gesture of of goodwill.

2 Likes

Hi Joe. I’ll try and answer your questions.