Extra services

What are some things that have a low “start-up” cost that I could do besides window cleaning. I’d like to get into landscaping (mowing lawns,bushes, etc.) but mowers are too expensive for me to get into right now. (I would want a riding lawn mower for efficiency but I could always get a push mower). Just wondering if anyone have any experience with anything like this. Anyone have any feedback? Thanks

Gutter debris removal

2 Likes

Pressure washing. You can get a decent belt drive pressure washer for half the cost of a lawnmower. In most areas you can swing a dead cat and hit 46 lawn guys. It’s a cutthroat business and no one is really making money unless they’re the big dog because the little guys price each other out.

I’m biased though because I only do pressure washing and sub out window cleaning. I’m not very good at it, but there are guys who are artists. So I’d rather pay them. I said it in the PWRA forum probably 15 minutes ago:

Pressure washing guys trying to get into window cleaning is like a carpenter deciding one day he’s going to drive screws with a hammer and nails with a drill.

Window cleaning is twice as hard as pressure washing in my opinion. You can wash windows AND pressure wash. I can pressure wash, but I CANNOT wash windows. Lol

1 Like

Yeah I hear you. I’ll look into it. Thanks

I’ll research it. Doesn’t seem too hard. Hate heights so I would have to get past that, also never really worked with ladders in my life haha. Thanks though. I’ll definitely look into it

Stick to one business at a time. Get really good at that and learn how to make it efficient and profitable. If you dip into too many pots your expenses keep rising, the business gets more complicated, and you master nothing. Jmo. (Well, mine and several business books I’ve read, which i agree with.)

7 Likes

Window cleaning and pressure washing. So much work out there