Free Website Builders

OK, So [U]I got a domain name and have hosting[/U]. Now I just need a site to throw up there in cyberspace. I am a total Noob to sitebuilding. I have full confidence in myself that once I begin to learn, I will be able to do just about any things I want to do.
BUT I want to have a decent functional site within 2 weeks.
I have played with YahooSiteBuilder and believe I could create a great site but am not sure about uploading it to the server I am using. I believe it may be as simple deleting a few lines in the .html code (that says this page is intended for yahoo sitebuilder and not other web browsers) but do not know for sure.

I am looking for some software that will allow me to build a basic site WITHOUT forcing me to buy a domain and host it on their own servers. Most that I have seen so far want you to buy domains and hosting through them.

So to be concise, my question is:
[I]What are some good website building applications for beginners that will not restrict where I can upload the finished design.[/I]

I use Microsoft Officelive. Pretty easy stuff to use. Here’s my site… not the best but pretty functional:

Are you sure I can use this on the servers currently hosting my site? It looks as if they want you to get hosting and everything from microsoft.

You need dreamweaver.

I have dreamweaver. I’ve spent several hours trying to figure it out. I’ve used photoshop for years, so I know adobe products somewhat.

Is there a good site that you can suggest that will help someone learn how to use dreamweaver? The tutorials I looked at on youtube were not much help.

On my site… I used yahoo sitebuilder. I designed what I would call the base, with all the pictures and some text, and set it as a picture on sitebuilder. I then used sitebuilder to add links and so forth. A backwards way of doign things… but it kinda works.