Getting a Job in High-Rise?

I’m a wildland firefighter with the US Forest Service and they’re about to lay the seasonal’s off for the winter. I’d really like to work in high-rise window cleaning after the fire season. I see them rappelling down the sides of super-tall buildings and it just looks like fun. I’ve had a bit of rappelling experience on my fire crew, does anyone have any advice for how I can get a job in high-rise? What qualifications are companies usually looking for? I’m in Salt Lake City right now. Thanks.

Las Vegas Rigging - Desert Specialty Rigging Supply Inc., LV, NV offers training.

The International Window Cleaning Association (IWCA) also offers extensive safety training.

Perhaps contacting a SLC company will yield a training/employment opportunity.

Well, not having the fear of heights set your apart from the rest. So you have a some experience repelling that’s great, that’s a plus too. Now you need to learn to clean windows. Contact the suggestions on the last post or check around your local companies. It can be good money when you get some experience behind your back doing subcontracting. Jobs might be a little hard to come by that late in the season unless you’re willing to relocate to the west coast of the south east. Good luck.

You’re in Salt Lake? If you are willing to relocate to Seattle I can hook you up. Send me a pm if you’re interested.

Exactly what I needed! Thank you. I will be giving them a call today!