Hello from Homer, Alaska!

I bought the cleaning company that I worked for the last two years, Homer Building Maintenance, Inc. We had cleaning contracts for 9 commercial buildings. Window washing was an additional billable for some and was part of the package for others. We did a wee bit of “on demand” work for other clients; carpet/upholstery cleaning, floor waxing and window washing. I ended up buying most of the capital assets and 5 contracts (we lost 2 and the previous owner kept the other 2).

I have picked up 4 new clients in the last 1 1/2 month for monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly and annual for one or more services. I am looking at window washing as the fastest way to grow my client list and it is a low cost (relatively speaking) way to get visibility and credibility with clients that need the other services. I hope to buy a WFP soon to accelerate the expansion.

I have a Masters in Public Administration and have worked full time at government jobs for more than a dozen years but I am tired of dealing with politicized preferential treatment for politicians and their friends.I was also doing a lot of military service (Army National Guard) and commercial fishing in my spare time.

I see a lot of similarities between the business models and practices of window washing/commercial cleaning and commercial fishing. The biggest differences I see are the safer work environments and a more predictable and narrower range of variable expenses. Gear loss and equipment failure can be brutally expensive and have huge opportunity costs.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

1 Like

welcome!

1 Like

Welcome

Homer is beautiful, are you servicing the entire peninsula area or just Homer?

1 Like

I’m focusing on the Lower Peninsula for now. I suppose if the job was big enough I would go further.

1 Like

Welcome aboard!

1 Like

Hey there @HBM welcome to the WCR!

If you ever need it, we have a guide for new members about how to use the most common forum features of the forum