High rise window cleaning

i forgot to mention that the building has glass balconies ( panels) all around it (we need to clean only the balconies / panels) each glass panel is about 4’x4’ square there’s around 4,600 panels, if I price it by panels @ $8-10 I’m at $37K to $46K , the panels are really dirty.

Hey [MENTION=41880]TopRope[/MENTION] welcome to WCR. Where is the first part of your question?

Hummm…can’t find it…the fist part was that I’m bidding on a 46 story high round building with only balconies we are 2 guys and it will take us about 18-21 days I calculated 8 hours a day it will be nice to price it at $1600 a day…times 18. But from what I heard it’s more like $350. I gave a first quote for $32000 for one time…but now I feel like I need to change it to $32000 for 2 times a year…Soooo I’m New to this business, but it is really that low???

I have no idea of your area, however I really can’t see this being an acceptable figure.
I worked for a high rise commercial company for 12 years and here in Australia each man is on around $25/hr so about $200 for wages add another $200 for costs still a way off your $800 per man per day.
I have a feeling there may be other quotes for the same building that are half if not less than your 32k, from my experience rope work does not generally pay more than every other type of window cleaning, in fact it tends to be the other way around.

1 Like

It used to not be that way…
I’m not sure when that trend changed. Maybe the late nineties/Early 2000’s

At one point there was a lot more competition (in my personal experience) and that would sensibly drive things south.
But I can’t see the same numbers of really solid commercial people these days.

Also, the commercial real estate took a nose dive shortly after.

My personal guess: those who experienced this beating/change are the ones who set the new bar.
(the new bar, being lowball)