Hiring & Pay

Hi, I’m fairly new here so here my first question…

I have been doing window cleaning here in Kansas for a few years and for the most part tend to hire sub contract workers and pay $12-$15, mainly because its far cheaper to do it this way than pay tax, workers comp and so forth…

The bad news though is im always having to find new people because even though i think im paying a decent amount, i can’t seem to find anyone good enough or who doesn’t have problems, drinks to excess, have minor drug issues, doesn’t fit the image, prison and so forth, right now have a guy who does a great job but doesnt make enough because obviously there are days we simply might not have jobs and then hes not making anything.

Basically is there a way to solve this without having to pay a full time wage and the added cost of employing someone full time too, especially given we are slow here for about 4 months of the year too due to bad weather and the winter months.

I have read that some of you guys and girls pay a commission basis, based on the price of the job, 20% 25% 30% would you reckon thats a better way to go and i would find a better worker that way. Also for those of you who do that do you then have them do flyers and pull in jobs are part of that commission or is that simply for doing the work itself. If i paid 30% of the whole job to them and then needed more workers later how does that calcalate into the figs too?

Obviously having done things the pay per hour way for a long time and not finding anyone decent enough to do the work, reading threads on here got me thinking about a different approach maybe?

All and any help greatly appreciated. Tired of having to train people, find they have problems or arent doing a good job then having to rehire through craigslist, would paying commission be better but also insist they bring in jobs too given they would be making $120 on a $400 job!