How can I land an account!

I have been out all week handing out business cards and talking to people and I can’t land any accounts. Every time they ask for a price I way underbid and still nobody is interested, I’m starting to get a little desperate now. I’m going out again tomorrow, please any tips are helpful. By the way I’ve going to small businesses, store fronts, local restaurants etc. If you have any tips on closing a deal it would be greatly appreciated.

Do you have a solid marketing plan in place? Do you keep track and follow up constantly on contacts? It often takes pushing through many “no’s” to get to that one “yes”. Show you have what it takes. People can smell desperate from a mile away. Be confident.

3 Likes

I really don’t have any money to do marketing my friend. This was my first week going out so I guess I’m just a newbie. Thanks for the advice.

1 Like

When I first started out I tried the same as you. I underbid and could not understand why I only got no’s. It’s because they see the desperation in the low price. Bid it confidently at the price it’s worth. People will not only respect you for it, but be more willing to take you on as their window cleaner. Your confidence in your price gives them confidence that you know what you’re doing and that you’ll do a perfect job.

8 Likes

Really solid advice, thanks.

Come up with a price that makes you a business and not a guy looking for beer money. Then, no matter what, STICK TO THAT PRICE.

Then get it done.

4 Likes

Wearing a uniform, even if its just a shirt ( preferably with a collar) makes a huge difference. Also carry a clip board or ipad. You make your first impression on potential customers even before you talk to them.

1 Like

Sorry to hear things haven’t been going great. I know this can be very discouraging. But keep at. If you follow the advice above and just keep trying it will work eventually. Hang in there.

1 Like