How do I start bidding commercial?

Hey guys, I’ve only bid residential before. I’m not sure how to start with commercial, I couldn’t find another topic about my specific question on here.

I’m insured. I don’t know what to include in a proposal. Should I be specific in how often I want to do the work and the price, or do I let the business decide that? I’m total noob on this topic and I don’t even really know if there is anything much different than residential.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys!

Storefront or commercial?

Is there a difference on how to treat them? Again total noob at non-residential.

I have a bank in mind right now. I would like to do both storefront and commercial though.

In how to treat them, no. But commercial will pay more.

Cold calling is the number 1 way of getting storefront and commercial. The key is to get them on a schedule.

Storefront is usually the lowest price. You’ll probably be looking at $2-2.50 per pane inside and out and you’ll need a $15-20 minimum. Routes and scheduling are VERY important. But you’re also looking cleaning them every 2 or 4 weeks. Note that I said “4 Weeks” NOT monthly. There are 13 - 4 week periods in a year. And you want to be able to line up your 2 week jobs with the 4 week jobs which help your routes. Try to sell every 2 weeks for busy stores and restaurants and every 4 weeks for offices, automotive shops, or less busy stores.

I usually bid commercial with the same pricing as storefront. $2 first floor, $3 second floor (no ladder), $4 third floor etc. Commercial usually has more glass. So instead of driving from job to job, you can camp at a single job for half a day or day and make good money. I love hotels. I try and sell commercial every 4 or 8 weeks. Large commercial might want it only once or twice a year (hotels)

Oh, and I might pad the estimate based on my own experience. Just because a large commercial rings up at $800 doesn’t mean it’s not going to take me $1000 worth of time.

5 Likes