How do you get rid of lines while fanning?

Recently I was fanning the windows on the inside of a home. They looked great from the inside, but when I was doing the windows from the outside, I could see arc lines where the squeegee had traveled. Of course, I went back in and cleaned them with a towel. I’ve been cleaning glass for 11 years, and have been fanning that entire time. However, I still get those faint dirty water lines where the squeegee travels. The rubber was fairly new, so that shouldn’t be the problem.

If you have found the secret to fanning without leaving those lines, would you please let me in on it?

Thanks,

Brian Anderson
Master’s Window Cleaning, LLC
Sacramento, CA

Fairly new? We at least flip our rubbers every morning, and get a new one every other day. That is the only thing i can think of…since you have been doing it so long you know your technique.

I would also say it’s the rubber. What brand are you using and how do you define fairly new?

Hey! I just posted the same problem! Too funny, I’m reading the posts here and seeing some decent answers. The question seems to be, how often do I need to change the rubber? It seems as though you’ve been doing this for some time and are still encountering the problem!? If you find an solution, please send it my way, I will do the same! Cheers.

I probably had 4 or 5 hours of use on the rubber when I noticed the lines.

Brian Anderson
Master’s Window Cleaning, LLC
Sacramento, CA

It probably got nicked on the job then

look at the corners of the rubber if they look worn either flip the rubber or get a new one, 1 rubber lasts me about 2 homes in/out. I’ve been using ettore rubbers and they work best for arizona, i’ve tried unger and sorbo rubbers and i concluded they aren’t as good as ettore.