How long does your season run?

I’m trying to figure out if I still want to push more storefront work, or just let what I have ride. Since it is my first year in business, I know its probably going to be a little shady, money wise, in the winter. Next year, I’m not worried so much about it.

So, I’m thinking, my actual window cleaning season will run from March to December-ish. I’m debating getting a part time gig this winter instead of storefronting because honestly, storefront work is getting to the point that its taking up time on my residential schedule now, which is blowing up nicely:)

How long should I honestly expect the season to run?

We are north of you and we usually work (two crews of 3) full time into the second week of December.

I’m on the opposite side of nation, but similar weather. Holiday Lighting and gutter cleaning demand make Nov our best month of year, double any other month. Jan takes care of itself with holiday lighting removal. If we don’t clean the gutter when we put them up we clean them we take them down…some we clean at both ends.

I have zero storefront accounts. Feb/Mar are my dead months.

end of March thru November

My first year, I concentrated on residential, and I had 2 commercial accounts. One store front that payed 200 a month and the other was a clinic that payed 500 a month. In December and January, I was hurting for cash so bad I was waiting by the mailbox for that 700 bucks! It was REALLY bad.

So, I decided to concentrate on commercial accounts since they kept me fed in the winter. It payed off. Now in the winter time when the residentials slow down then I have the commercial stuff to keep my guys busy. Things are getting better…I still like to get residential work because my guys really do a great job. This is the first year that I have actually gotton emails after the job is done- really complimenting my men.