How to really tell if glass is tempered or heat treated?

Hey guys, I’m new to window cleaning and while scratched glass is always a concern from what I’ve been reading it sounds like 90% of the time it’s only with temperd or safety glass ( if I’m wrong please educate me). So with that being said how do you know for sure if its temperd? I know it supposed to have a label etched on it but I would imagine that’s not always the case. So how do you know for sure what type of glass your dealing with?

Tempered glass will always have a stamp on it to that effect. I understand that some heat-treated or strengthened glass may not require a stamp, but I can’t confirm that from personal experience.
Building code in the US requires all doors, skylights, panes within 24" of doors, bathroom glass 5(?)’ or lower from the ground and glass on stairways 4’ or lower above the floor must be tempered. This may be off a little, others may have more exact info.
You can certainly find out more also by researching.

Hit them hard w a hammer if they shatter into a 2000 pieces they r tempered if they produce long sharp ex wife killing blades of glass they are annealed. Or u could just look for the stamp. All glas going to within 2 feet of floor, within 2 feet of a door , all bathroom glass if it’s within a certain foot from floor all needs to be tempered. But deffinatly start off w the hammer it’s a lot easier then Looking for the stamp.

here’s some info you may find useful regarding tempered glass and stamps

This brought tears to my eyes, I was laughing so hard!

Oh, and you won’t have to worry about scratching that one…

I always keep my sledge hammer on hand but every once in a while a customer gets mad when you test it out that way lol. Thanks for the info guys.

Where is [MENTION=14804]Gary Mauer[/MENTION] when you need him!

You could get one of these for $350. It’s a meter that will detect tempered glass.