Marketing Question: New sales person to Window Cleaning

Hi there, I am a new Marketing Manager for Aqua Pro, and have 21 years of experience in sales and marketing for other industries. We are getting into fundamental differences of marketing by industry, and I’m trying to figure out the major difference between marketing window cleaning to commercial accounts for an area that tends to be price conscious. CHEAPEST IS BEST theory.

I’ve been most successful in the past with network marketing, and relationship building, but am being informed that’s not the best approach. Any ideas? Am I better off walking door-to-door, or building relationships through business groups, i.e. chambers, meet-up groups, churches … etc? What’s the QUICKEST way to build commercial routes / accounts?

I would be interested to know as well…In my experience door to door has worked best for me. Also the first thing I did with my business when I started it was I called all my friends who either owned business or managed them and thats where I started. It was a great way to get the ball rolling for the business.

I don’t know how it is in your town for commercial, but one of my best customers said he’s been getting about 5 or 6 sales calls a month. I don’t go door to door anymore, I hate to see the look on their faces… “oh no, not another one”. I only stop by new businesses once, and I’m now learning to do mail marketing, instead, for residential clients.

I lost a customer this month who went with a someone he met who joined his networking group here is a snippet from his letter:

[I]"…Your service has been great so it has nothing to do with that. We are members of a local networking group (Business Network International), and we have a window cleaning service in our group so we feel we have an obligation to use them…" [/I]

Sounds like a networking group might be a way to go, but not for me.