Marketing Strategy for a Brand New Business?

Hello All.
This is my first time posting, and I thank you in advance for being gracious with this newcomer!

I am starting a window cleaning business from scratch. My dad had his own window cleaning/property image care business for many years, however, within the last year we have relocated and he sold the business. Now I’m starting in our new location.
My dad is coaching me with the actual business growth aspects, and I’ve learned a lot from him. But I’m wondering if you all would be willing to give some advice on what methods to use for “getting the ball rolling”. Basically going from 0 clients and no community presence, to operating normally.
Door Hangers?
EDDM?
Door Knocking?
Etc…

Thanks!

1 Like

All of the above.

EDDM is like a marketing adrenaline shot, but costs a lot.
Door hangers are nice and cheap, but take a lot of time to distribute.
Knocking can you land you jobs right away, but is slow and you might hate doing it.

This year i EDDM’d routes that seemed most promising and am door hangering areas that are good but the rest of the route would have been bad.

1 Like

Yeah, I like EDDM for what it is. I saw it work in the former business.

But when you are just starting, things can be a little tight… :expressionless:

1 Like

Door knocking is free and gets you work right away. You can add business cards to help your image, then door hangers to leave at the “not at homes”.

Be systematic. Pick the nicest neighborhoods within 10 minutes of your house so you have no excuses not to go hunting.

See if there are any free marketing groups in your town and make friends with other local business people. Organizations like the BNI are expensive and a lot of work, not worth it, IMO.