New guy in town with some questions

Hello everybody! I’ve been lurking this site for some time now and I wanted to introduce myself. I also have some questions! I’m 20 years old, currently living in New Jersey, and I’m looking to start my own business window cleaning. I am currently looking for nice squeegees/t-bars, stuff to practice with to get the technique going. I really appreciate all the resources on this website and the community as a whole.

As I’m researching this business, there’s a few things I’m concerned about.

1. How can I start using ladders and getting on roofs for cleaning skylights or non-easily accessible windows? Is this something that I MUST do if I choose to do residential? The ladder is a scary thing for me, because I have no experience, but I am willing to learn the safety aspects to do it. How exactly can I start to gain the right knowledge to do this? This touches on another question, is it okay if I go inside the homes to remove the outside screens without doing it from outside first?

2. Are there any things you wish you knew that you’d like to pass to a young man like myself?

I look forward to meeting you all and being a part of this community, and one day to be able to help other people with my own gained knowledge.

you can choose your customers and your jobs. i do residential with wfp we carry a 16’ multi ladder for getting on garage rooves where they block windows but nothing higher for ladders. there used to be a wfp company here that had no ladders period. if your canvassing just skip the houses you don’t want, if i get offered a job i don’t want ii say no politely of course. inside high windows are done with a pole and moerman squeegee.