Newbie in Arizona - hot weather tips?

Hi,

My name is Brad and I’m new to this awesome forum. I’ve cleaned windows in about a dozen homes over the years, but never took it seriously. The homes were in Utah and Illinois. I live in Phoenix now and am looking to pick up a job or two on Saturdays to help pay off some student loans a little quicker. With the different climate, I have come across a few things that I need your expertise on:

1. Sun screens - after reading through a lot posts, it sounds like Screen Magic applied with a pump sprayer to both sides and worked in with a 14" t-bar is the best method. (I only had to worry about cleaning bug screens in the past with a soapy t-bar and a hose)
  • any recommendations on pump sprayers?
  1. Hot glass – I read that using cold water and harder rubber will work better when it really starts heating up.
  • Recommended rubber brand/model for hot weather? At what temp does the harder rubber make a difference?
  • Do people add ice cubes to their water to keep it cold? (yes, I’m serious)
  1. 2nd Story Windows & Tile Roofs – there are some weird roof lines here that would leave the window at least 4-8’ away from where I am on the ladder in certain situations – with a tile roof separating me from the window. I am old school and a newbie, so I am always right at the glass with a t-bar and squeegee (no WFP or extension poles yet).
  • Do I only look for ranch style, 1-story homes to avoid this problem? Do I invest in a 12’ extension pole? Other? I would prefer not to try and climb on the roof as I’m sure I would break tiles and possibly fall off the roof.
  1. Tinted windows - tricks/tips, etc? Do you use the same Dawn/H20 formula as usual?

Anything else that I should consider or be prepared for?

Thanks in advance!
Brad

Well… If you’re not willing to get on a ladder…

Mike Radzik
Pro Window Cleaning
Central Massachusetts

Sent from my iPhone using Window Cleaning Resource

1 Like

Hi Mike,