Paying employees

I am constantly asking this question! I want to get it just right. We are currently doing straight up commission. 30% across the board, unevenly distributed to the crew.

[COLOR=Blue]I voted hourly but am considering going to commission. The other day I had a guy take 45 minutes to do a storefront with only two 6x6 windows and 2 glass doors. He makes $9.00 hr, the ticket is $12. He said the owner was talking to him, is why it took so long. I am keeping my payroll under budget but think I could pay my people better if they were on commission.[/COLOR]

Well…i must say i have plenty of experience with paying commission/piece i will say its good if you can pay your guys well enough and still make money.Im curious as to Chris’s reply about the 30% across the board,i take it that divided up between 2?

You see out here 15% ain’t cutting it,i wouldn’t keep people long at that % if indeed thats the case. Another thing to consider about comm/piece is…everytime you raise your rates your employee’s get a raise too unless your doing things differently then i did?

What i’ve done is gone hourly & implemented a “bonus” of 3% for getting the gigs done at or below budget,as well as a 5 to 7% bonus for "upsells like pressure washing,gutter clean-outs,bird control etc.

This way…it helps somewhat with the “Milkman Mentality” I also pay my crewleaders/leadmen well from 12.50 up so if you train them right they will see to it the gigs are done as expected otherwise…there’s going to be hell to pay plus…they sacrifice there bonus. Bonuses are nice in that it actually raises there hourly rate,alittle incentive if you catch my drift?

My particular situation now…is after going with a payroll service and a comm/piece combined it was killing me of course i was way out there with the comm piece% especially with my main guys. Now i’ve somewhat been able to curb that and concentrate on being closer to the 33 rule which is easier said then done.