Plastic Grille Removal?

Hi,

I have a residential job that has plastic grilles installed on anderson windows. I have no experience with them. I have spent plenty of time with the traditional wooden grilles with the metal clip, but these plastic ones are new to me.

The grilles are very tight in the frame and the customer mentioned she broke a couple installing them too and was reluctant to have me remove them until she saw the price for cleaning them with the grilles installed.

Anyone have some experience with these, any tips fore dealing with them?? I’m not touching them until i’m confident I won’t break them, when I gave them a slight tug to see how easily they would pop out, they had no give at all.

Thanks.
Brian

How are they held in? How long have they been installed? Lot’s of times the sun bakes that plastic and it becomes brittle and very breakable. Is it plastic against plastic or plastic against a painted wooden frame?

The house is new within a few years in a new subdivision. the grilles are all plastic white “fake french panes” they don’t have clips, but look like they have a little bump that fits into a notch in the window frame, but I couldn’t tell exactly what.

If they are old and brittle, is the only option to treat it like it were real cut -up panes and spend all that time wiping up the drips?

How big is the gap between the grill and the frame of the window? Can you fit a 5 way painters tool between to help dislodge the frame? The broad surface of a 5 way would help keep a lot of pressure from being in a localized area, which can crack the grille.

I have a house full of plastic grids on Anderson windows too. There are tabs on every end that slip inside the frame. You just have to get your fingers under the grid somewhere in the middle of the window and pull. The only way to dislodge the tabs is to bend the grid. Coincidentally, this is also the only way to reinstall them - to bend the grid.