Should I get insurance just starting out?

I want to get into window cleaning to make money and i want to know if i need insurance if i’m just starting out on friends and families houses? What equipment should i get if i don’t want to use a ladder? What should i do if i want to go door to door but kind of shy and have a low voice.

You don’t need insurance, buts is good to be covered. If you decide not to get insurance, just make sure you advice them that you’re not covered

sounds good, thank you. How long of a pole should i get to reach the second story windows, my moms house is single story and my dads is two stories.

I highly recommend you ask this over in the sister site WCR. I could go over the basics with you as a window cleaner but they can cover some stuff I’ve forgotten years ago.

Edit: jeez louise I thought this was the PWR site lol.

I thought this website is WCR, if not can you put a link in your reply to what your talking about?

Sorry I must’ve clicked on WCR somehow when I posted this.:laughing:

But anyhoo…

I primarily do residential. I use a 6" brass squeegee and 6" scrubber for french windows. Anything else I have a 14" squeegee and scrubber, along with a belt bucket aka BOAB, a window cleaning bucket with handles that attach on the ends (important so you don’t catch an edge on stairs and dump water like a water park). I also use a Triumph mk 3 scraper and stainless blades but you have to be super careful on how/when you use it.

Poles, I have several but use a 4’ and 8’ extendable the most, locking painters poles at Lowes are perfect. Anything higher than that I have my various extension ladders.

Now in your case you’ll need to learn how to safely tilt in double hung windows so you’re not having to use ladders. It’s a science, some are pretty darn stubborn and/or broken. Here in KY we have well over a dozen different types.

Towels, it’s personal preference. I like thicker ones from Martex, most cleaners use surgical towels.