State Fund and $50k charge

I thought I had everything in place to legally, legitimately use subcontractors on some of my jobs. I had an agreement/they had licenses/liability insurance/ there own vehicles/poles/equipment, everything to be legit sub. State Fund at audit time said, “no, subs are hourly and you owe us $50k” I’m shortening this but wonder what thoughts are out there on appealing/fighting this ruling. Any thoughts are appreciated.

My good friend had state fund say the same thing to him regarding the same situation. He stuck to his guns, and ultimately it came to nothing because Statefund did not pursue it.

There are many more factors to determining the relationship than just hourly vs percentage vs flat rate. Singling out one point probably would not hold up in court for them. I’m no lawyer, but based on my research and experience.

Sounds like you were doing everything the proper way to hire subcontractors. This is defiantly an area you want a lawyer for.

From what I see, some guys are using subs as full time employees and are risking getting pinched for it. But if you are truly using subs the right way, there is nothing wrong with that.

1 Like

Please elaborate and define " State Fund " for the sake of others who are not from your State. In Ohio we have several different State entities we deal with but don’t Identify it as State Fund. Please Clarify so I can respond appropriately.

Jeff

1 Like

Paul,
You and I both probably had the same Nazi. Oriental guy?
If they are giving no mercy, get a lawyer Paul. State Fund ain’t no joke man and if I were you, I would not say another word to them until I got with a lawyer.

See if you can appeal it in house first tho. They may just be shaking the tree and seeing if something comes out. If not, don’t worry too much about it. You are in the clear man. There are plenty of others who they can easily come down on to make an example of other than someone who is doing things legally.

1 Like