Tracks and Screens

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the forum here. Glad to be a part of this group. I have about 6 years experience in this industry but less than a year being on my own. I have a lot to learn and willing to listen to wisdom and experience.

I want to ask about quoting windows with screens and tracks: is it better to give the estimate for the tracks, screens and glass in one price, or price them individually with tracks and screens as an additional service?

My concern is that if I estimate for all three, then the customer may think I charge too much per window, not realizing it is more than just the glass.

Thoughts?

I tell people that I will clean their windows, tracks and screens for X. Very rare that somebody doesn’t want their screens cleaned, we have lots of airborne fluff here. The tracks are usually dirty due to airborne clayish dust and volcanic ash and moisture that was retained on the panes because people keep their homes buttoned up so tight in the winter in Alaska.

2 Likes

Some companies itemize services, some don’t. I like to be all-inclusive, so sills, screens and windows are all priced as one. My customers appreciate that.

BTW you need to let them know everything is included, don’t let them guess. Communication is very important.

4 Likes

I include it all in one price. I think folks feel like they are being taken care of that way. Every once in a while someone says don’t bother with the screens, usually because they are new or will be having them replaced.

1 Like

Thanks for the insight, everyone. I usually give them the option for glass only or glass plus tracks and screens.

1 Like