Validation on my residential gear

I’m brand new. In the planning phases of my “business”. I quote it as such because it’s just a very part time side job to pay down bills. I’ve been searching all the threads for recommendations for ladder vs pole. I know I could very well just get both and not worry about anything, but alas, I have a budget. A very good portion of the houses in my neighborhood are 2 story with walkout basements, making them essentially 3 story on the back side. Based on the opinions I’ve seen here, it would seem that money would be better spent on a quality and safe ladder setup over a big ass pole, probably because as a total noob, navigating a 30 foot pole is going to have an incredibly steep learning curve. But also, I despise the thought of being that high off the ground, I have two children and a wife at home, i’m trying to pay off medical debt, not add to it. Oh I’m doing trad, no wfp, for the budgetary and learning curve reasons.

So what’s up, am I on the right path here? I could use some experienced opinions on this.

Thanks!

WFP have their place. Personally I would get ladders first.

-What if you do WFP and run into a situation you need to ladder up to 1 window?

-Can’t clean gutters with a WFP and that season is great money and coming soon.

1 Like

You’re in the wrong industry if you can’t use ladders when you need to use ladders.

1 Like

Either get some training (iwca has training) on ladders so you’re comfortable or get a wfp and study a lot of videos so you know how to use it. Wfp isn’t a magic wand but it can definitely help you.

You can also learn to take some windows apart and clean them from the inside but that comes from experience.

Or just take 1-2 story houses only. Easy. You don’t have to take every job that comes your way. Just come up with a line like my insurance doesn’t cover 3 stories.

1 Like