Website Hosting

I’ve got a question about website hosting. I am in the “just beginning to think about” stage of creating a website. I’ve read a lot of the posts on here, looked at several websites, and have started to get a general idea about what I want to do. Ok, here is the tricky part, for me at least: I’m in Australia. So, being a complete novice to website building, and hosting, I am wondering if it makes any difference with whom you get your hosting from. It sounds like HostGator is the go, but I assume that is on the other side of the planet from me. Should I be looking at Australian hosting outfits, or is it insignificant, other than the currency exchange rates? I mean, will it make any technical differences?

Thanks in advance for your help, and as I go along, I’m sure this won’t be the last time I ask for it! :stuck_out_tongue:

it doesn’t matter where you host your site. i use namecheap and they have been awesome. the tech support is really great and they’ll help you set everything up. prices are great too.

Ok. Generally speaking, Caleb is right because most hosting companies by this day have got it down. I will say that hosting thru godaddy in years past was actually bad tho for me. My website would take forever to load. I switched to host gator and haven’t looked back. So my advice would be host thru a recommended company. And as far as domain registration… Use the cheapest.

Sent from my iPhone using Window Cleaning Resource mobile app

Thanks for the advice guys. There are soooo many options out there. I’m leaning toward hostgator for now, but I’m really concerned about how it would effect SEO and such things, by NOT using an Australian host? Just the technical stuff like that is really bugging me, and makin it hard to pull the trigger on making a choice.

If you Google it you’ll see that as long as you choose a reputable hosting service your seo will be fine. Where you are located and where the host is located doesn’t matter.