What is the industry standard starting price in negotiating to buy an existing biz?

Hi all,

My name is Mike and I am new to the WCR forum and a newbie to the WC industry. My wife and I have been looking and researching for a business to buy for over a year and we feel that the WC business may be just the business we are looking for. We are considering buying an existing business that has been around for over 10 years that is pretty much 50% residential and 50% commercial. The business also provides power washing, deck and gutter cleaning. I’m trying to get a sense of how some of you veterans place a price on a WC business assuming there are no service contracts in place. The owner is asking 10 months gross which I believe is high according to what I have read around on this forum. Is there an industry standard to start negotiations at? For example, 3 months gross, 6 months gross?

Also for anybody on this forum who is in California, when buying an existing biz, route or customer list, what is your strategy in making sure that the new employees that came with the route you just bought do not leave and steal your new customers (especially an employee who has been doing the actual work for some time)……in California non-compete agreements are unenforceable with employees……they are only enforceable against the selling owner.

Any input, comments, or advice is much appreciated….especially from women/mom owners……since my wife will most likely be managing the business while I keep my day job for now as a safety net.

Happy Holidays and Cheers,
Mike